vicfootball - Seasons 1991-2018

Victorian seasons 1991-2018    
1990 witnessed the most turbulent Victorian State League season on record, with 18 clubs battling it out in a war of attrition over 34 rounds of football and several double-header round weekends. Ultimately, 1991 witnessed a new dawn as the Victorian Premier League was born, with a reduced 14 clubs and 26 rounds of competition. Brunswick Juventus would win the league on the final day of the season.

Change would come as early as the following season, as a Finals Series was introduced to determine the champion team. The league contracted in 1999, abolishing the Finals Series in the process only to reintroduce it again two seasons later. It expanded once more as the National Soccer League folded and the remaining Victorian clubs returned to the fold. Experiments with institute teams (AIS and VTC) have come and gone and what would be the final ever Premier League season witnessed its lowest point as Southern Stars were turfed from the league after the penultimate round due to a match-fixing scandal.

FFA’s attempt at creating a uniform second tier to underpin the fledgling A-League resulted in the creation of a National Premier League in 2014, with Victoria once again settling on 14 teams and abolishing the Finals Series, only to see history repeat as itself once more as it re-introduced the format again in 2015. The story continues.

Below is a summary of the champions, premiers, best-and-fairest winners and leading goalscorers from every season of the Victorian Premier League (1991-2012) and National Premier Leagues Victoria (2014-2018). The links will navigate to the full season records compiled by John Punshon as part of the Victorian League Archive on OzFootball.
Season Champion Premier Player of the Year (Gold Medal) Leading Goalscorer (Golden Boot)
2018 Heidelberg United Heidelberg United Tyson Holmes (Bentleigh Greens) Brandon Barnes (Dandenong Thunder) 22
2017 Bentleigh Greens Heidelberg United Massimo Murdocca (Avondale) Kenny Athiu (Heidelberg United) 19
2016 South Melbourne Bentleigh Greens Nick Hegarty (Hume City) Milos Lujic (South Melbourne) 25
2015 Bentleigh Greens South Melbourne Kamal Ibrahim (Port Melbourne Sharks) Milos Lujic (South Melbourne) 20
2014 South Melbourne N/A Milos Lujic (South Melbourne) Milos Lujic (South Melbourne) 22
2013 Northcote City Northcote City Marijan Cvitkovic (Melbourne Knights) Milos Lujic (Northcote City) 18
2012 Dandenong Thunder Dandenong Thunder Nick Hegarty (Hume City) Luke Sherbon (Dandenong Thunder) 17
2011 Green Gully Green Gully Jason Trifiro (Northcote City) Richie Cardozo (Hume City) 19
2010 Green Gully Richmond Fernando De Moraes (South Melbourne) Trent Rixon (Northcote City) 19
2009 Altona Magic Dandenong Thunder Ross Thompson (Hume City) Joey Di Iorio (Dandenong Thunder) 17
2008 Altona Magic Green Gully Graham Hockless (Heidelberg United) Pablo Cardozo (Richmond) 20
2007 Preston Lions Preston Lions Terry Antoniadis (Western Suburbs) Esala Masi (Oakleigh Cannons) 15
2006 South Melbourne Oakleigh Cannons Sash Becvinovski (Altona Magic) Sash Becvinovski (Altona Magic) 17
2005 Green Gully Green Gully Anthony Magnacca (Preston Lions) Michael Curcija (Essendon Royals) 15
2004 Bulleen Zebras * Green Gully Doug Mladenovic (Altona Magic) Michael Curcija (Essendon Royals) 17
      Ricky Diaco (Frankston Pines)  
2003 Green Gully Preston Lions Chris Emsovski (Preston Lions) Joe Tricarico (Whittlesea Stallions) ^ 16
2002 Preston Lions Fawkner Blues Jim Kourtis (Bentleigh Greens) Juan Nilo (Bentleigh Greens) 13
2001 Heidelberg United Port Melbourne Sharks Chris Emsovski (Preston Lions) Peter Psarros (Port Melbourne Sharks) 15
      Zoran Todorovski (Altona Magic) Zoran Todorovski (Altona Magic) 15
2000 Green Gully N/A Damian Vojtek (St Albans Saints) Danny Gnjidic (Bulleen Zebras) 18
1999 Green Gully N/A George Jolevski (Melbourne Raiders) ^ Peter Kakos (Port Melbourne Sharks) 23
1998 Bulleen Inter Kings * St Albans Saints George Jolevski (Thomastown Zebras) ^ Sash Becvinovski (Altona Magic) 23
1997 Altona Magic Altona Magic George Jolevski (Altona Magic) Saso Markovski (Sunshine Georgies) 25 †
1996 Altona Magic Altona Magic Ike Alagiozidis (Bentleigh Greens) Bobby Despotovski (Heidelberg United) 25
1995 AItona Magic Port Melbourne Sharks George Svigos (Port Melbourne Sharks) Nick Tsaltas (Port Melbourne Sharks) 18
      Tom Pondeljak (St Albans Saints)  
1994 Preston Lions Preston Lions Josip Skoko (North Geelong Warriors) Peter Psarros (Port Melbourne Sharks) 23 *
      Nick Van Egmond (Croydon City)  
1993 Bulleen Lions Bulleen Lions Steve Douglas (Albion Rovers) Carlos Retre (Fawkner Blues) 22 *
1992 North Geelong Warriors North Geelong Warriors Bogdan Bonk (North Geelong Warriors) Sash Becvinovski (Green Gully) 17 *
1991 Brunswick Juventus * N/A Fabio Incantalupo (Bulleen Lions) Sash Becvinovski (Green Gully) 17
Brunswick Juventus, Bulleen Inter Kings and Bulleen Zebras are all former incarnations of Moreland Zebras.  
Thomastown Zebras renamed to Melbourne Raiders, who utlimately amalgamated with Whittlesea Stallions to form Whittlesea Ranges.
Sunshine Georgies reverted to Sunshine George Cross and utlimately renamed to Caroline Springs George Cross.