English (United Kingdom)
Melbourne Knights Team of the Century Print E-mail
Tuesday, 29 July 2008 20:21


The Melbourne Knights Soccer Club this year celebrates it's 50th anniversary, and in the lead up to the upcoming 2003 / 2004 NSL season, its 20th NSL season, the celebrations are set to begin in earnest.

The major highlight of the year will undoubtedly be the clubs celebratory Gala night which will be held at the Atrium Ballroom on the 21st, June 2003 and the announcement of the clubs team of the century that same evening.

A panel of six judges have been burning the midnight oil and every record
book available in the process, in order to compile a who's who of the clubs sporting greats and then narrowing the selection down to 33 player and 2
coaching nominee's.

Chaired by Frank Burin, the panel which included Sports Journalists Roy
Hay, Peter Desira, Craig Mc Kenzie and past players such as Dujo Zemunic and Ivan Roso completed the list of nominations late last week.

Having submitted the list to the Board of Directors at the Knights, it is
with pleasure that I announce the following nominee's.

Melbourne Knights Team of The Century Nominee's: -
Keith Adams
Bozo Basic
Mirko Bazic (COACH)
Ante Bilaver
Joe Biskic
Peter Blasby
David Cervinski
Adrian Cervinski
Tommy Cumming
Fausto DeAmicis
John Gardiner
Steve Gojevic
Ivan Gruicic
George Hannah
Steve Horvat
Ivan Kelic
Michael Kis (COACH)
Steve Kokoska
Mirko Kovacek
Ante Kuzelek
Andrew Marth
Billy McArthur
Bill McIntyre
Jimmy McKay
Hammy McMeechan
David Miller
Branko Milosevic
Ken Murphy
Tom Pondeljak
Horst Rau
Joe Simunic
Mark Talajic
Danny Tiatto
Mark Viduka
Billy Vojtek

The final team will be announced on the evening of the 21st June 2003, and
the club has received confirmation the both Danny Tiatto and Joe Simunic
will be in attendance, with Mark Viduka's confirmation expected within the
next few days.


Optimized Tweets