English (United Kingdom)
2001 Hall of Fame Inductees Print E-mail
Tuesday, 29 July 2008 19:48


National Coach Frank Farina and former Soccer Australia president John Constantine headed a star group to be inducted into the third Soccer Australia Hall of Fame.

Constantine, Basil Scarsella, Farina and Alan Davidson were named today as members of the top category of Australian soccer honours.

Constantine and Scarsella have been inducted into the Hall of Honour and Farina and Davidson into the Hall of Champions.

"Because of my health problems, I was never sure I would ever see the day when I would be recognised," said a grateful Constantine.

"It’s three years to the day when I had my heart transplant. I dedicate this honour to my family for all of their suffering, but specially to the family of the young donor who made it possible for me to be here to receive this award." Constantine said.

Scarsella, also a former Soccer Australia Chairman and now Oceania Football Confederation President, said he was honoured to be in the company of people he believed had contributed more than he had.

"It is also recognition of those volunteers, parents and family members who take their kids to soccer each weekend and go for years without any real recognition," he said.

Constantine’s career included NSW Federation President and member of the Sydney 2000 Olympic Bid Committee, while Scarsella was the Australian soccer team manager to the Barcelona Olympics and a long serving South Australian and national administrator.

Farina, who described his honour as unexpected, made 86 appearances for Australia and was Belgium’s leading scorer when he switched to European soccer.

"It’s a great honour, and it makes me feel comfortable with everything I have done and achieved." He said.

Davidson was overwhelmed.

The 76 times capped player and former LG Socceroo captain who had a successful stint with English top club Nottingham Forest, said he was shocked by his selection.

"To be in such a select group of so many famous players, past and present, is a real honour.

I am so proud and so are my sons who are playing this world game." he said.

Other prominent players who have been inducted include former Australian women’s captain Patricia O’Connor and Socceroos Tony Henderson, Jim Tansey, David Ratcliffe and former Austrian international Leo Baumgartner.

Among the non-players are referees Doug Rennie and Arthur Roberts, coach Bill Vrolyks, schools Cup founder Bill Turner and State officials George Wallace and Charlie Caruso.

The 2001 Inductees are:

Hall of Champions: Frank Farina (NSW), Alan Davidson (Vic)

Hall of Honour: John Constantine (NSW), Basil Scarsella (SA)

Medal of Excellence: David Ratcliffe (NSW), Tony Henderson (NSW), Jim Tansey (Vic), Patricia O’Connor (WA)

Roll of Honour (Distinguished): Charlie Caruso (SA), Doug Rennie (NSW), Bill Vrolyks (NSW), George Wallace (Vic)

Award of Distinction: Leo Baumgartner (NSW), Gary Bryne (NSW), Cec Drummond (NSW), Robbie Dunn (WA), Ken Murphy (Vic), Bill Vojtek (Vic)

Roll of Honour (Meritorious): Les Broadbent (Qld), Sid Grant (NNSW), Eric Heath (Vic), Rob McShane (WA), Arthur Roberts (NNSW), Bill Turner (NNSW)


Optimized Tweets