Australia v Japan report by FFA

Australia 2 - Japan 6

The Westfield Australia U-16 Women's team has narrowly missed out on a place in the Under 17 2010 Women's World Cup, by losing to Japan 2-6 in the 3rd/4th play-off in the Asian Football Confederation U-16 Women's Championships.

Japan took the upper hand in the encounter in the 31st minute when Haruka Hamada created an opening down the left hand side of the field to provide a pin point cross for Mai Kyokawa to head home past the Australian goal keeper Brianna Davey.

Hikaru Naomoto extended Japan's lead in the 45th minute with a long range shot that sailed over the Australian defence leaving Australian goalkeeper Brianna Davey little hope of stopping it.

Japan continued their goal scoring dominance from the first half in the 52nd minute when Mai Kyokawa scored her second of the match.

Australia managed to pull a goal back in the 59th minute after Tara Andrews stepped across her defender for a diving header off an Emily Van Egmond free-kick.

Australia was unlucky not to pull another goal back when a long range effort by Rebekah Stott was parried down by Mayu Yoshida in the Japan goal, only to see Caitlin Foord's efforts on the rebound sail wide.

Mai Kyokawa scored her third for the match when she converted a free-kick conceded by the Australian defence just outside the 18-yard-box in the 69th minute.

Hikari Takagi added to Japan's total in the 83rd minute when she rounded the Australian defence to calmly slot the ball pass the advancing Brianna Davey.

Caitlin Foord managed to add a consolation goal to Australia's tally when she collected a ball in behind the Japanese defence from Heidi Makrillos in the 85th minute to convert a one-on-one with the goalkeeper.

Mai Kyokawa rounded out her scoring for the night when she extended Japan's lead in the 87th minute after collecting the ball inside the Australian penalty box unmarked.

This victory to Japan means that they will follow Korea Republic and DPR Korea to the 2010 Under 17 Women's World Cup in Trinidad and Tobago.

written by Football Federation Australia